fbpx

2023 Lunar Development Conference

2023 Lunar Development Conference

Saturday July 15 and Sunday July 16, 2023

“Short-term needs and Long-term goals”

The Moon Society’s Lunar Development Conference 2023 – Brought to you by Moonbase Lappträsk Foundation and Lunar Homestead

The 2023 Lunar Development Conference (LDC) will bring together speakers from science, business, space policy, advocacy, and academia who will present their research and ideas for the human future of Luna. The theme for this year’s conference is “Short-term needs and Long-term goals”. What do we need to do and develop NOW to get Lunar settlement moving forward? And what kinds of Lunar settlements do we want to see in the future?

This event will follow up on our successful 2020, 2021, and 2022 Lunar Development Conferences which brought together over three hundred attendees and over sixty speakers including CEOs, professors, business professionals, legal and policy experts, and a wide range of ideas and opinions. All sessions from the 2020, 2021, and 2022 LDCs are available for on-demand viewing on our YouTube channel.

The organizers for the 2023 Lunar Development Conference are Niklas Jarvstrat (Conference Organizer), founder of the Moonbase Lappträsk Foundation and Ben Smith (Scientific Program Chair), founder of Lunar Homestead.

You can contact Niklas (niklas@isru.tech) and Ben (ben@lunarhomestead.com) for more information.

Details

  • Dates
    • Saturday July 15 and Sunday July 16, 2023
  • Times
    • 8am – 2pm Pacific / 5pm – 11pm CET
    • WorldTimeBuddy (worldtimebuddy.com) is an easy way to figure out times across multiple time zones.
  • Format
    • Virtual Only – Moon Society members will be emailed links to attend the conference along with complete instructions.
    • Two concurrent tracks. Attendees can decide which track to participate in.
  • Registration
    • No registration necessary. Simply join the Moon Society and you will be emailed all the information you need.

Admission

This year, the price of admission to the 2022 Lunar Development Conference is the same as the membership price.

This means that the conference is free to members!

Not a member but want to attend the conference? No problem! Simply Join the Moon Society and enjoy free access to LDC 2023 as well as many other benefits.

Become a member today and get all the updates about LDC and Moon Society activities.

Sponsors

Look for announcements soon!

Schedule

July 15 – Saturday

  • 8:00 am Pacific/5:00 pm CET – Welcome
  • 8:15 am Pacific/5:15 pm CET – Keynote Speaker (TBD)
  • 9:00 am Pacific/6:00 pm CET – Presenter Tracks
    • Short-term Needs Track
      • 9:00 am Pacific/6:00 pm CET – Lunar Frontier-Enabling Tech – Ben Smith, Lunar Homestead
      • 9:30 am Pacific/6:30 pm CET – TBD
      • 10:00 am Pacific/7:00 pm CET – TBD
      • 10:30 am Pacific/7:30 pm CET – TBD
    • Long-term goals
      • 9:00 am Pacific/6:00 pm CET – TBD
      • 9:30 am Pacific/6:30 pm CET – TBD
      • 10:00 am Pacific/7:00 pm CET] – First Steps of a Lunar Settlement Analog – Niklas Jarvstrat, Moonbase Lappträsk Foundation
      • 10:30 am Pacific/7:30 pm CET] – TBD
  • 11:00 am Pacific/8:00 pm CET – Lunch keynote (TBD)
  • 11:30 am Pacific/8:30 pm CET – Presenter Tracks
    • Short-term Needs Track
      • 11:30 am Pacific/8:30 pm CET – TBD
      • 12:00 pm Pacific/9:00 pm CET – TBD
      • 12:30 pm Pacific/9:30 pm CET – TBD
    • Long-term goals
      • 11:30 am Pacific/8:30 pm CET – TBD
      • 12:00 pm Pacific/9:00 pm CET – TBD
      • 12:30 pm Pacific/9:30 pm CET – TBD
  • 1:00 pm Pacific/10:00 pm CET – Panel – TBD
  • 2:00 pm Pacific/11:00 pm CET – Thanks

July 16 – Sunday

  • 8:00 am Pacific/5:00 pm CET – Welcome
  • 8:15 am Pacific/5:15 pm CET – Keynote Speaker (TBD)
  • 9:00 am Pacific/6:00 pm CET – Presenter Tracks
    • Short-term Needs Track
      • 9:00 am Pacific/6:00 pm CET – TBD
      • 9:30 am Pacific/6:30 pm CET – TBD
      • 10:00 am Pacific/7:00 pm CET – TBD
      • 10:30 am Pacific/7:30 pm CET – TBD
    • Long-term goals
      • 9:00 am Pacific/6:00 pm CET – TBD
      • 9:30 am Pacific/6:30 pm CET – TBD
      • 10:00 am Pacific/7:00 pm CET – TBD
      • 10:30 am Pacific/7:30 pm CET – TBD
  • 11:00 am Pacific/8:00 pm CET – Lunch keynote (TBD)
  • 11:30 am Pacific/8:30 pm CET – Presenter Tracks
    • Short-term Needs Track
      • 11:30 am Pacific/8:30 pm CET – TBD
      • 12:00 pm Pacific/9:00 pm CET – TBD
      • 12:30 pm Pacific/9:30 pm CET – TBD
    • Long-term goals
      • 11:30 am Pacific/8:30 pm CET – TBD
      • 12:00 pm Pacific/9:00 pm CET – TBD
      • 12:30 pm Pacific/9:30 pm CET – TBD
  • 1:00 pm Pacific/10:00 pm CET – Panel – TBD
  • 2:00 pm Pacific/11:00 pm CET – Thanks

Call for Abstracts

DEADLINE: TBD – Right now it’s open!

Want to present your idea at the 2023 Lunar Development Conference? Great!

All submissions are welcome. However, all submissions will be screened to make sure they are appropriate for the conference theme and meet our quality standards.

Please email all abstract (and ONLY abstract) submissions to ben@moonsociety.org.

Abstract requirements

  • Please do not send your entire presentation. We are only requesting abstracts at this time.
  • Format
    • Your name
    • Your organization (if applicable)
    • Contact email
    • Title of Presentation
    • Paragraph (or two) about your idea/what you want to present
  • You will be contacted by email if we require more information, select you to speak, or select your presentation for the Poster Room (see below).

Presentation requirements

  • Presentations are 30 minutes in length
    • Your presentation should be 22-25 minutes long
    • This allows for 5-8 minutes of Q&A
    • Presentations MUST have a visual component. Preferably a PowerPoint presentation.
    • Presenters must have a suitable web cam and microphone. NO presentations from cell phones please.
  • Presenters will be provided with full access to the conference, even if they are not Moon Society members. However, we’d like you to join us!

Poster Room

We will not have enough presenter slots to accommodate all submissions. That’s why we’re going to have a “Poster Room” for the conference.

The Poster Room will consist of pages on the Moon Society website. Each concept will have its own page.

Poster Room material can consist of, but not limited to, the following:

  • Abstracts
  • Papers
  • Images
  • PowerPoint presentations
  • Pre-recorded videos

You can directly submit your material for the Poster Room if you don’t want to speak.

Please send all submissions to Ben Smith at ben@moonsociety.org and note that you would like it in the Poster Room.

Topic ideas

Want to present but need a topic? Here are a few ideas that may help.

  • Short-term Needs
    • Initial settlement technology and techniques
    • Settlement installation
    • Logistics / Order of settlement construction
    • In-Situ Resource Utilization
    • Habitat construction
    • Settlement financing
    • Initial agriculture and food supply
    • Energy production, transmission, and storage
  • Long-term Goals
    • Long-term self-sufficiency technology and techniques
    • Building a Cis-Lunar economy
    • Preserving the Lunar ice
    • Low-gravity reproduction research
    • Off-world biodiversity and ecological research
    • Large-scale agriculture, aquaculture, and husbandry